Full programmes from 2011

Each year in May we hold a unique series of concerts focussing on international young organists This is sponsored by HSBC and the concerts are held on Tuesdays at 1pm. 

For our 2011 programme, we are pleased to announce that the following artists will be performing: James McVinnie (UK), Ami Hoyano (Japan), Yukiko Yamada (Japan), Konstantin Volostnov (Russia), Hampus Lindwall (Sweden)



May 3rd      James McVinnie (UK)


Fantasia BK 25, William Byrd(c 1539–1623)

Suite, Jehan Alain (1911–1940)

          i         Introduction et Variations                                                  

          ii        Scherzo

          iii       Choral

Fugue in A flat minor, Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)

From Sketches for pedal piano Op 58Robert Schumann (1810–1856)

          i           Lebhaft                                                                            

          ii          Allegretto

Choral no. 1 in E, César Franck (1822–1890)


May 10th       Ami Hoyano (Japan)


Prélude , from Suite op.5, Maurice Duruflé (1902-1986)

Canons in Ab major and b minor, Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Choral  no.3 in a minor, César Franck (1822-1890)

Deux danses à Agni Yavishta, Jehan Alain (1911-1940)

Joie et clarté des corps glorieux, Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)


May 17th       Yukiko Yamada (Japan)


Toccata in d, Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707) 

Chorale prelude: Vater Unser im Himmelreich, Georg Bohm(1661-1733)  

Prelude and fugue in a minor, BWV543, Johann Sebastian Bach(1685-1750)

Chorale prelude: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV662, Johann Sebastian Bach(1685-1750)

Fantasia in f minor KV608, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)


May 24th       Konstantin Volostnov (Russia)


Prelude and fugue D major, BWV532, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Adagio and Allegro in f minor, KV594, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

“Rejoice, O Virgin” (from All-Night Vigil op.37, arr. Alexei Shmitov), Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

Sonata No.3 in a minor, op.23, August Gottfried Ritter (1811-1885)


May 31st       Hampus Lindwall (Sweden)


Te Deum, Op 11  

From 6 études Op. 5:

                - Notes répétées

                - Octaves

From 12 gregorian preludes Op. 7:

                - Attende Domine, Jeanne Demessieux (1921-1968)

Mathnavi, Op 50, Rolande Falcinelli (1920-2006)

Fist of Fury (2011, World premiere), Jesper Nordin (born 1971)

Improvisation, Hampus Lindwall (born 1976)



We have a rich tradition here at St Lawrence's of showcasing some of the world's most celebrated up-and-coming stars during this series. To see the full list of organists and  programmes from the past five years please use the links below: